Back in the Groove

January 5, 2013

I will sing Northern Fells

During the Christmas holiday I got my mojo back!  it had been a long time coming,  Back in 2010 I had had two big solo shows, and had worked like a demon to get the pieces ready for exhibition.  Both shows were a success, but I felt a great sense of emptiness or anti-climax afterwards…. a feeling of being directionless, maybe.

Circumstances outside of my practice as an artist then kept me away from the easel… at first it was me throwing myself into renovating our new home and planning the building of a new studio as an addition to our new home… a great distraction from the internal confusion that I was feeling.  My crisis in confidence needed to be addressed and I did so practically through building works and landscape gardening.

And then, in 2011 my Mum became ill.  Terminally.  I spent 2011 and 2012 visiting her in Wales… and doing a whole heap of soul-searching and evaluating ‘stuff’.  Many good things did come out of a very painful couple of years, the silver lining most definitely edges my storm clouds.  mum and I shared a love of Art and a love of landscape, and through many wonderful conversations and time spent together I re-found my self-belief and gradually found myself back at the easel.

The two paintings that i have completed over the past two weeks are two of the best that I have painted.  They revisit old themes, significant places, but with new vision and passion.  Music and poetry inform my work more than ever, and both pieces feature poetry scratched into their layers or stenciled into the background…. new influences and inspirations… the poetry of Elaine Feinstein, the music and lyrics of Lisa Hannigan.

It feels good to be back.

I’m so happy to be back.

the tension between us

Leave a Reply

